Co-Playing Video Games and Parent-Child Relationships

Posted by Anneliese Sheffield on March 8 2014 at 3:12 p.m.

• Hi! Let's have a discussion in the comment section here about our collective experiences with and research on parent-child co-play and the parent-child relationships.

As my paper and presentation show, in the population that I studied, I did not find evidence of relationship enhancing qualities in the act of co-playing video games unless the parents only co-played video games seldom (less than once a week). In fact, the relationships grew slightly worse when parents co-played played more often. This was contrary to the results in the literature, and it surprised me!

What do you think? Is it an anomaly for my non-random population? Do you have other suggestion for why this negative correlation was found?

Posted

• Hi Anneliese, I don't know much about statistics or Parental Nurturing scale but I have a few questions.

You said that there were 32 participants, is a participant an individual or a couple? (the two parents' point of view might be interesting)

You suggested that parents who play much do not have many opportunities to spend time with their children. Is there a difference between the parents who play video games but not with their children and those who also play with their children ?

Finally, I have given a paper about a video game used to express parental affection. Have you seen this video ? http://animalcrossingtragedy.ytmnd.com/

Posted

• Hi Sébastien. The 32 participants were all individuals. You bring up a good point that it could be valuable to look at the mother and father perspectives in relation to one another. In this pilot study, I didn’t try to link the parents, but in the next phase of the study I am coding the respondents so I can view the data about each family unit.

Your paper about parent expressions of affection sounds very closely related. Could you send me the citation?